Opera

As Opera has been free for a while, I have decided to give it a go. I have been thinking about trying it out for a while, but I was put off by the adverts – and I didn’t really want to pay for a browser. But now it’s free, so I downloaded a copy.

Obviously, being Norwegian I am patriotic by nature, so the fact that Opera is from Norway is going to be a plus in my book, and I’m very impressed so far. I love the voice thing, even though it takes up extra space on the computer. I haven’t got a microphone, so I haven’t tried out the voice commands yet, but I have had my computer read me the news while I was doing the ironing, which was quite cool… Also, getting it to read pages not in English produces hilarious results…

I’m not sure what I think about the layout yet, it seems a little messy, but it can be customised so I’m sure I’ll be able to tweak it a little. There’s loads of skins available as well, so you can really personalise it. I don’t think it has extensions like firefox, but I use both browsers, so it doesn’t really matter that much. And I find that having a lot of extensions in firefox tends to slow it down a lot anyway. 

One of the coolest things about Opera has to be sessions though. If you have a lot of pages you often visit, you can open them all in different tabs, and save it as a session. That way, you can go to open session next time you want those pages, and as if by magic – there they all are!

I haven’t tried the mail function yet (I’m too attached to my Outlook), so I can’t say anything about that, but it has a built in rss-feed reader, which is good. (Although I’m testing out searchfox rss for that as well). 

So all in all, I think Opera is great. It has all the must have functions like tabbed browsing, integrated search and pop-up blocker, and it has a few really cool extras like the voice thing, and sessions. The only problem so far has been the lack of capability with the fancy post-editor here at wordpress.com… So what are you waiting for? Download it. Now.

3 Responses to “Opera”

  1. Bryan Says:

    Whoa, so Opera has a problem with the WYSIWYG editor here? I didn’t know that – I thought Matt and the crew were just messing with the code. Doh! Thanks for the clarification. I’m still trying it anyway. 🙂

  2. Antibush Says:

    Bush and the Republicans were not protecting us on 9-11, and we aren’t a lot safer now. We may be more afraid due to george bush, but are we safer? Being fearful does not necessarily make one safer. Fear can cause people to hide and cower. What do you think? What is he doing to us, and what is he doing to the world?
    Our country is in debt until forever, we don’t have jobs, and we live in fear. We have invaded a country and been responsible for thousands of deaths.
    The more people that the government puts in jails, the safer we are told to think we are. The real terrorists are wherever they are, but they aren’t living in a country with bars on the windows. We are.

  3. http://google.com Says:

    “Opera | Kristines Blog” actually causes me think a little
    bit extra. I really loved each and every single element of this
    blog post. Thanks for the post -Nydia

Leave a Reply

